Let the journey begin : Ep. 03(b), Tongyeong in my mind, heart & tummy

20180810_115135

Tongyeong’s 2nd most famous representative : Geobukseon@Turtle ship (거북선), after Admiral Yi Sun Shin (이순신)

So this island / city / town has been on my bucket list for South Korea travel since last year and it was just great that there’s a historical festival right at the time of my travel!

Plan A was to get there (₩10,900), go around town and then head to festival area.

Plan B is in case bus directly to Tongyeong (통영) sold out,  I’d head to Geoje Island (거제도) which is also on my bucket list (next to Tongyeong) then head to Tongyeong later in the late afternoon as there are more frequent buses between them.

Seats aplenty so Plan A it is!

Earlier arrival than expected at 1.5 hours instead of 2. YAY!

There’s a tourist information center right in front of the terminal and there’s only 1 English language map/leaflet (which I accidentally tore into half due to passionate use).

All the places I want to go and eat so far is near festival ground (10-20 mins walk) so I’m off to a good start.

After alighting from the bus and on our way to the market, found this cute and heartwarming board!

20180810_103305

Greetings encouragement board! It says Boiso! Bangabseumnidei! (It’s like good to see you / nice to meet you in local dialect)

1st stop – Seoho Market (서호시장) for Sirakguk (시락국) breakfast.

20180810_103438

Seoho Market (서호시장)

I first saw this episode in Battle Trip covering Tongyeong before my trip (yay!).

Since I don’t know the exact direction, asking the ever helpful and friendly Imo (이모) would do it. There’s a cute Imo who even walk us up right to the alley we’re supposed to go to. ❤ Tongyeong Imo!

It doesn’t hurt to speak some Korean too, LOL!

IMG-20180811-WA0009

Meet Sirakguk (시락국) and the banchans (반찬) of your choice!

IMG-20180811-WA0012

Unlimited! More than 10 types of banchan (반찬)!

At 1st was wondering if I was at the wrong place as instead of a Korean Imo, I was greeted with more familiar faces in Wonjo Sirakguk (원조 시락국).

A quick chat revealed both mom & daughter are from Vietnam, which I 1st  thought were Thais.

Daughter speaks Korean really well & translated what we spoke about to the mom in Vietnamese. It’s so cute!

After bidding goodbye to Eva & Yu Hsuan (wasn’t interested in both Seopirang & Dongpirang’s mural villages; but do give it a go if that’s your thing), I skipped to the nearby Tongyeong City Museum.

It’s perfect as my next destination after breakfast due to the beautiful exhibits plus it’s raining.

20180810_113543

20180810_113841

Tongyeong Najeonchilgi Exhibition (통영 나전칠기 전시회)

20180810_120435

You tell them sistah!

My eyes and mind were treated to a royal banquet that day with all these beautiful mother of pearl and other amazing crafts!

20180810_122430

Praise the artisans who discovered these beauties!

20180810_114141

1 of many beautiful crafts!

20180810_114907

Wise words! Don’t have to be Christians to put into action ^^

There were even videos of how these babies were produced!

20180810_122527

Can’t take my eyes of you~

20180810_121446

Korean traditional hat for men, Gat (갓) not to be confused with the Gat from Yemen.

20180810_123157

Metal ornaments / locks / joint for furnitures

Those familiar with Chinese or Baba Nyonya@Peranakan culture will know about mother of pearl used in the many furnitures of the past.

This is also another piece I enjoyed, made to look like the mother of pearls on the furnitures.

After more than 1 hour or 2, I was out looking for Yun I Sang’s Memorial and came across a musical street which I didn’t fully explore.

20180810_131630

Yun I Sang’s story : Docheon Music Village (윤이상 이야기, 도천 음악마을)

20180810_131653

On my way to the memorial I was lured by a pavilion and had to resist the temptation to sit / lie down in with all my might.

20180810_132229

Bye ㅠ.ㅠ

Also passed by this cute house with design unusual to the common Korean houses.

20180810_132313

Daeryuk Gallery (대륙 입시미술 전문학원)

Met the owner of house & he bought it just to run an art gallery.

Love the house and it’s charming interior, the paintings are very enjoyable as well!

20180810_133100

I just love the colours on the roof!

See that cute sea horse metal structure? I only took this picture because I love contrast of the roof colour.

20180810_133131

I love doors like this too!

20180810_133216

Had to give this temple a miss ㅠ.ㅠ”‘

So glad I detour from the main street to the music street/village and discovered these gems!

Honestly I have no idea who the late Yun I Sang is prior to this visit but I’m happy I decided to walk over from the museum

20180810_133821

Isang Yun Memorial Park (Docheon Theme Park) (윤이상 기념공원 [도천테마파크])

Reading his chronology makes me feel really sad for what he had went through and until the day he passed, he didn’t get to return to his country as he had wished.

Please Malaysia, don’t do this to your citizens too (LGBTIQPAs are human and your children too!). Don’t imprison or chase them away for them to have to seek refuge in foreign lands.

Independence day is coming and so is Malaysia day too but we are still not free.

20180810_143313

Berlin House (베를린하우스) modeled after his house in Germany.

The furnitures in the house was transported back here too and his dad was also an artisan! You’ll see his craft for his son there.

I’d love to visit his cemetery too as he had been returned this year to his homeland Tongyeong but unfortunately I had to make my way to the festival area.

Next stop : lunch!

I’m not kidding, Korean sesame oil is to die for!

20180810_145844

Delish Chungmu Gimbap (충무 김밥) with sides of Eomuk (어묵), Mu Kimchi (무 김치), Marinated Octopus/Cuttlefish & Doenjangguk (된장국). It’s even better dipped in Korean sesame oil.

With my tummy filled, I made my way to the festival area and passes the market, the port then the ferry terminal.

20180810_111840

Just had to take a shot of this!

20180810_154336

Turtle Ship@Geobukseon of Tongjeyeong (통제영 거북선)

20180810_160811

I was lucky enough to get a shot of this right before they decided to stop. Could you see Bandabi (반다비)?

20180810_160936

Replica of Turtle Ship

Since it’s the festival, I was able to view the inside of both title ships and it’s exhibit. Yay for freebies!

20180810_162718

View from inside of Turtle ship

20180810_163657

Archery old school style… anyone?

The concert starts at 1730 and few performances mostly western classical music, a husband wife acoustic band, percussion bands, fusion performative by Korean traditional musician and b-boys etc.

There’s a break in between so off to the market I go.

20180810_163927

Tongyeong Jungang Traditional Market (통영 중앙 전통시장

Instead of dinner, I found snacks I’ve been dying to try.

20180810_190035

Squid/octopus tentacles & Chwipo (취포)

20180810_190203

Some fish/seafood dried snacks, mini Chwipo (취포) & grilled octopus tentacles

I’ve been had by the 1st seller peddling 3 items above, paying  ₩10,000 per pack. Whereas the lady seller a few doors down were selling them at ₩5,000 per pack.

Always forgot the wisdom of don’t buy from 1st seller LOL!

20180810_190059

Sweets for my sweet friends : Honey bread (꿀빵)

Bought the 꿀빵 and sweet Imo gave me and additional 1 as service ^^

Time for dinner and so happened it’s Gimbap again!

20180810_190303

Assorted Gimbap Set (모듬 김밥 세트) ₩5,000. Kimchi, anchovies, tuna, fish roe, spicy small chilli and I can’t remember the rest

Halfway through dinner I saw a parade passing by.

It’s nice to see matching band, traditional costumes, traditional musicians, institutions, parents and school children taking parts in the parade. So wonderful & colourful!

This reminds me when parades are aplenty in KL and 1 of the many highlights during my childhood.

No pictures cos I was eating my dinner, LOL!

I stayed on through various other performances : elementary school children in a play about Admiral Yi Sun Shin, modern classical performances and fusion Korean traditional performance (국악).

1 thing that didn’t sit well with me was that the officials didn’t officiate the festival beforehand around / before 1700 but only arrived past 2000 and taking their sweet time greeting the “vips” while us commoners have to watch those boring exchanges.

When I was in Gochang, the officials officiate the event before any performances etc. Not the other way around.

A man was so visibly and audibly upset; lashing out that the seats were reserved for those “vips” who strolled in late while us common folk including elderly had to stand for hours.

He further added for the vips’ listening pleasure, “Aren’t the common people citizens too? You are supposed to work for the people, not the other way around. This is not right”.

The most amusing part during this exchange was a man in front of me trying to get a recording of what happened but his phone was unwilling to cooperate, LOL!

Stayed until 2130 before heading off to the terminal so I won’t miss the last bus home to Busan at 2205 / 2240 (₩12,000).

Surprisingly, the bus ride home was just under 1 hour and I arrived at the Sasang Terminal at 2300! YAY!

Tongyeong is more charming than what I’ve imagined and I want to experience even more next time.

I’ll be back again and looking forward to do Geoje Island as well!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

justiceforsisters

stand by our sisters!

onfootforfood

Ok, so I cheat.. I took a bus and more...

pinkpurpledollar

embrace the new currency